Music with an Edge

Anyone can make music, whether it’s good or bad is up to the people that are listening. If you’re willing to be open minded and have some appreciation for all art forms, a lot of enjoyment can arise when finding musicians who are willing to take a risk by using unique instruments in the recording room. People in this day and age are always trying to stand out, start a trend ,and make a name for themselves, especially in the music industry. Strumming a few chords on the guitar, banging some drums, and belting on the mic just won’t cut it for a lot of music fans of the 21st century. Musicians need to start using their heads, well more precisely their minds.

This might sound crazy, but how amazing would it be to be able to play an instrument, the piano for example, by simply thinking of the notes and the melody? Well you can! After spending countless hours scouring the Internet about innovation in musical instruments, I found an article about how students at the University of Plymouth created a way to play music by only using brain waves and simple eye moments. It was designed for people who have experienced severe motor impairments, such as locked-in syndrome, to still express themselves creatively through music. I feel that this is very important because music is a big aspect of my life, along with many others, and I can’t imagine the feeling I get when I make music being taken away from me. It would be without a doubt unbearable.

This soon got me thinking; there needs to be even more advancement in brain-computer-musical-interface (BCMI). It’s easy to see that so many people would be able to benefit from this. Not only would the severely disabled gain something from BCMI but so would the elderly who are unable to move well, people who can’t read music, people who lack good coordination and even the blind. The hassle of lugging around the instrument and music would be cut alleviating clutter and misplaced items. All you would need is a song in your heart and some time to let the music flow from your mind and through the instrument.

I’m not saying that BCMI will have you playing like Mozart, but it will allow you to become musically inclined with more ease than the traditional way of learning to play an instrument. There is still some practice involved because all good muscians must practice. Now how they pratice might not be the same all the way across the board but if I could choose, I would definitely choose to work my mind then my fingers on the piano’s black and white keys.

Here is the link to the article, it even has a video demonstrating how the brain-computer-musical- interface works. It truly is something you have to see to believe. http://www.gizmag.com/year-end-musical-instrument-review/20973/

One thought on “Music with an Edge

  1. BCMI is something I had never heard of prior to reading your article. I think this type of technology can also attract ordinary people. If it is adapted into simpler designs, even children can start making music. This is really appealing because I love making music even while I am not very knowledgeable about playing instruments. (I took violin for a while and piano for one year, but my actual playing skill is rudimentary.)

Leave a Reply

